A good trip and special memories

Several months ago our daughter Kara had invited me to go with her and 20 month old Ivan to travel to PA where she and I have lots of friends and family. For several reasons I decided to go a week earlier to visit supporters and family ahead of time, so that once Kara came we wouldn’t be as busy!

So I flew into Phildelphia and was able to be picked up by a dear friend, Cheryl.  The plane was over an hour late but I arrived safely and she was kind and didn’t mint that late hour! We still had a few hours of conversation, then rest and the next morning she put me on the train to my home town. Another friend, Judy picked me up there.

img_5725

Both of these friends has lost loved ones since I last saw them. Cheryl had her mother pass into heaven at 99 1/2 years and Judy had lost her husband also one of our dear friends. So it was good to see both of them again.

The next day I traveled to a small town north where we have a supporting church. I got to share with the church at a dessert social. How neat to see about 10 young people there! Two of them were doing a 5 day club with CEF that summer! They were so excited! It was a wonderful visit and such an encouragement to me! Kent and I love this church and congregation!

I drove back to my hometown and was able to make a lot of visits with all of our supporters in the area, which are many, my brothers, nephews and nieces and all of my uncles and aunts. It was great to connect with one supporter who also lost her husband since we saw them, also another friend who has had breast cancer return as well as many other friends. It was an exhausting but very productive week! I counted that I visited more than 35 people in the first week and two churches, where I shared. I can’t tell you how many conversations I had as well. But then I felt that I had done the work I came for and could relax. I must say, I took almost no pictures of this first week.

This is my friend Millie with one of her grandsons that came to play with Ivan

img_5926

 

The second week Kara and Ivan joined me!I was so excited to see them again as Ivan is growing up so fast! He is talking so much more than when we saw him in May, so it was fun to be around him again. I drove to Philadelphia to pick them up, I forgot how the traffic in that city is a bit crazy! And we all stayed at another friend’s house. Millie has a ton of grandkids and one is Ivan’s age. She babysits them often, so lots of toys and fun things for Ivan too! And she  and her husband and family nearby had a lot of fun seeing and getting to know Ivan too.

Kara had lined up visits with her former college roommates and other school friends. All of these young women had had babies since Kara had last seen them and two had been married! So it was fun to meet their babies and for Ivan also to meet them! Three of the girls had a chance to get together for a mom’s night out! I kept Ivan that night! Ivan had a great time with all of the toys and kids at my friend Millie’s house.

img_5922 img_0343

We also took a short trip to the Atlantic Ocean. Kara and I have always loved the ocean or the “shore” as people in the east call the ocean front. It was a beautiful day and not too hot by the time we got to the beach! Ivan was a bit reluctant as first but then enjoyed it and the sand! I loved introducing him to the ocean!

We met another long time friend and supporter at a local chick-fila since it has a nice playground which Ivan is used to. We sat close to the playground and he did really well playing while we got a visit in with Gail. She was like a aunt to Kara while she was growing up and they hadn’t seen each other for a long time. Again it was great for her to get to meet Ivan as well as visit with Kara as an adult!

While it was full of activity these two weeks were a gift! I had been feeling that I needed to go and see my family and visit our friends for quite awhile. I used to be there more often but since my mother had passed, I didn’t feel the need to go back so often. I have missed seeing my dear friends and my family! That are so dear to me! So while this was a very busy two weeks it was wonderful, to see our dear friends and to have them meet and get to know Ivan a little too! He was such a great little boy with all the visits and driving etc.

I was so appreciative that another missionary couple loaned us their van which worked wonderfully for taking all the baby and food stuffs we needed. Also I was able to loan a baby car seat, pack and play and portable high chair all of which Kara did not have to cart with her!! Yeah!

Well, the day finally arrived for us to leave, and  I was excited to do this last adventure with Ivan and Kara. We took two trains to Philadelphia airport.

I am not sure if Ivan realized that we were actually “on” a train as he was pretty excited to see another one on the tracks too.  But he did well and we arrived at the airport in time to get something to eat before our journeys home.

It was with sadness that I said goodbye. I watched as Kara and Ivan looking back over her shoulder walked away, I waved one last time to him…with a tear in my eye. Who knows when we will see each other again? We have some ideas but it feels a long time in between as he is growing up so fast. But I so appreciate this visit with Kara and Ivan as well as all the others that I got to visit!!! And thanks to Kara for the idea and little Ivan for being under two, so the trip was this summer as flying was cheaper.  I believe God went before me and sustained me as well.

I pray that this summer finds you spending time with those that are a treasure to you too! We need to appreciate all these times!

Gratefully,

Jan for the Roaming Reimers

 

 

2 Responses to “A good trip and special memories”

  1. Bruce Or Melody Stalk Says:

    What a blessing this trip was for you.  So Happy For you.

    Sent from my Verizon, Samsung Galaxy smartphone

  2. LuAnn Says:

    Sounds like a rewarding, loving visit.

Leave a Reply

