Our daughter’s birthday

A few days ago our only daughter turned 33. When I think of that I can hardly believe that many years have gone by already.

Wasn’t it only yesterday that I held that dear sweet little girl in my arms? or she played with her big brother?

File_18

Or when I asked her to watch the laundry at 3 years old, she literally watched the washer go through the entire cycle.

129488320554795200

Scanned Image 132330026

And hearing her run into the house saying that her brother Joshua, two years older had told her how to accept Jesus, and she had.

Br Kara & Cake

File_06

Br Kara-Hat

Seeing her so very excited to start school and learning so much so fast.

At age 10 she heard a pastor challenging the people to read through the entire Bible…that year was the first time she did, and many more years since.

Scanned Image 132330027

I think of her as a preteen and all the friends and the outings that we did. I remember her telling me that I didn’t have to go on all her school field trips. I told her Yes I did, that is what a good mother did. But I didn’t have to be in her group…then when my girls were having such fun, her group joined in with ours. (Hah).

As a teen when she chose basketball over playing the piano..I was saddened, not her.

A001

She and her brother have always been very close
scan0008

Her graduation from high school was special and we all celebrated with her. She looked very adult here with her dad

IMG_1687

Off to college and me holding back my tears as I knew she was so excited to go..and I with mixed emotions.

College years, she grew up way too fast for me. But I was so proud of her. Here she is with roommates and other friends.

DSCF0057-002

College graduation

DSCF0012-001

Then years of working as a teacher and eventually with the severe Special Needs students.

DSCF0014 (2)-001

At her brother’s wedding
IMG_3672_2

One day she asked me if I wanted to meet her “friend” Nick? Of course I said YES… and before long Nick was coming around a lot more.

DSCN1964

She was very proud and happy to become an aunt to Silas.

Aunt Kara & SilasJPG

Then we got a call while we were in Uganda, Africa to say “I’m engaged!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Your wedding day…Kara, we couldn’t have been happier for you and proud of you.

nick_kara0057

Good times as they enjoyed married life:

IMG_2006

IMG_2205.JPG

Kara and Nick 120

Kara went on to graduate with her Masters Degree in Special Needs Education:

IMG_2818

Now she has been married to Nick for 8 years, and along comes a pregnancy and little Ivan has joined our family.

IMG_0011

And how fast he is growing..

FOT7825

Happy birthday Kara..we are so glad that God saw fit to put you into our family. We love you so much and are more proud of you than words can express.

Love Mom for the Roaming Reimers

4 Responses to “Our daughter’s birthday”

  1. Millie Hilsher Says:

    You only have One daughter and God gave you a lovely one!! That was a lovely tribute to her

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • RoamingReimers Says:

      Yes, Millie I agree. I am soo glad that God saw fit to give us Kara as a daughter and you have known her for the whole time and prayed for and with her too. Thanks for that.

  2. Rachel Says:

    So happy for you to have a wondereful daughter like Kara, and so happy for Kara to have parents who care enough to document your growing-up years…and beyond! Enjoy the memories!

Leave a Reply

