Mother’s Day reflections

On Mother’s Day I would naturally think of my own mom. And I was this past week. Last week this happened to me, it was raining all day and we were not sure yet where we were going to settle, and I was feeling a little “blue” all day. I really wondered was why I was feeling sad..but. Kara, our daughter called and we talked and that helped but I was still puzzling at why I felt that way..

We got together that afternoon for a hike with Kent’s sister LeAnn and husband, Ken.  LeAnn mentioned the date…May 7th OHHH, that was my mom’s birthday. She would have been 93. My subconscious remembered even as I hadn’t thought of it. So then I felt better. I realized I was just missing my mother. I still do almost every day.

Scanned Image 132330009

Then Mother’s Day this Sunday… so I was thinking of several mothers. I was thinking of Teresa our daughter-in-law who is a great mother to our grandson 8 year old Silas.

IMG_9939

I was thinking of my mother-in-law Alyce who has come back from their car accident in November but is still struggling with some issues. I had just been to visit them (a 5 hour drive one way from where we are living), and I had a pretty good visit. I got to help dad with the garden and some weeding in flower beds around the house. I bought some flowers and planted them so Mom could enjoy them.

Reimer2012 002

 

 

 

I was thinking of another mother-to-be that I know. She is a first time mother and is unexpectedly expecting. She is doing great but adjusting to thinking about a coming baby.

I was thinking of all the ‘mothers’  that God put into my life over the years to influence me for good and to show me how to be a better mother. Eleanor now 95 and has struggles of her own. She was so influential in my life!  She became a missionary to Alaska when she was 65 and a widow. I talked to her today and she just had a wonderful visit with her daughter. I got to see her last summer when this picture was taken..

2013-08-07 13.01.59

There are two Betty’s that God placed in my life to encourage and pray for me and to generally just help keep me on the right path. This Betty has been like a mother to me. She is a real prayer warrior too.

IMG_5644

 

 

There are four friends, that have upheld me through thick and thin from my home church. All of these dear ladies have been a godly example to me.  I have been so blessed by  all these women who taught me much about motherhood. They all have different ways of “mothering” but I learned so much from each one. And I count them each as a very dear friend!

DSCN3842

Me and my four special friends.

Of course,  I was also thinking of our own children and the blessing that they both have been to me.  I can still remember what it felt like to hold them the first time. So precious!  Josh, our son and oldest was so premature that we almost lost him.  We praise God that he survived and he has been such a blessing in our lives.

Josh-June '80-9

File_18

 

 

 

 

Kara was born 2 years later and I am so grateful for both of them and all they have taught me and all the joy they brought to my life and continue to!

 

 

Lastly I (and my husband Kent) couldn’t stop without thinking of our very precious grandson, Silas, who is now 8 years old. He is our son Josh and Teresa’s son. We treasure the time we have together! This picture is a few years ago but such a fun time!

 

RSCN5100

 

I had a good Mother’s Day. We did not get to be with our kids,  BUT we all got on our computers and “saw” each other and talked together. That was a treat!

 

Then Kent and I and Kent’s sister LeAnn and husband Ken went to a beautiful rhododendron garden. We had so much fun taking lots of pictures. I do enjoy the northwest and all it’s springtime beauty! Here are a few pics for you to enjoy!

IMG_0446

 

These are all rhododendrons of many different varieties.
IMG_0452IMG_0341

 

IMG_0397IMG_0399

 LeAnn looking closely at the blossoms

 

These are really rhododendrons bushes but look like trees!

Many more pictures…too many to include but I thought you would like to see the beauty of Spring in the Northwest.

Happy Mother’s Day to all you Mothers!

 

Jan for the Roaming Reimers

2 Responses to “Mother’s Day reflections”

  1. Rachel Says:

    So nice to hear from you and know you had a happy Mother’s Day. Our Mother’s Day is a day of rejoicing as Dixie (our daughter as you know) was declared Cancer FREE after several weeks of tests involved. God is soooooo Good! ALL THE TIME!!!
    Also enjoyed your flower photos!!
    Blessings from Rachel & Dick

Leave a Reply

