Celebrating my birthday

Yes, because of two days of rain we decided to delay our leaving of Kansas City, Missouri and would do some things to celebrate my birthday in KC.

As I realized that we were staying put, I said I wanted to go to Denny’s for my Free Grand Slam Breakfast. While we were ordering one of my good friends from PA called to wish me a Happy Birthday. That was the start!

Because Denny’s had free wifi we sat and Kent got some work done while I searched for fun and free things to do. About 11 am we took off.It was still raining and so I suggested the free Art Museum. It is called the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art. I used to go there occasionally on their free Friday sponsored by Ford Motor Company. A number of years ago they went to an all free museum. Many more people come and enjoy all the beauty that is there now. check them out here. http://www.nelson-atkins.org/welcome/index.cfm

That was our second FREE item. We spent about 3 hours there. Here I am standing beside a beautiful bouquet in the front hallway. I do love flowers!!!

IMG_1341

I did get several calls while here to wish me a Happy Birthday as well and that was also nice. I enjoyed seeing all the beautiful paintings and other objects of art there.

Next we drove to the famous “Country Club Plaza”. Most people call it the Plaza.Here is the website. http://countryclubplaza.com/  Check it out.  It is an outdoor mall. Meaning that you have to go out of one store to go into another. It is beautiful all times of the year. It was still raining and so we drove around to see the shops from the car. I was not inclined to walk around in the rain, nor was Kent to get out and stroll. So we drove around instead.

Here are a few pictures of one of the main streets there. The rain kind of made it a bit hard to appreciate the beauty.

photo 1

Kansas City is known for lots of fountains. This one is near the Plaza and is often photographed.but usually on clear days. hah!

photo 2

Then we went on the Crown Center which is another upscale small mall connected to the Hallmark Card company’s headquarters. Here is their website too. http://crowncenter.com/   They also have a huge Crayola store and cafe there.

photo 4

Also well as a Legoland and store. And here is their website…it looked awesome but we needed to have our grandson Silas  with thus to enter the Legoland.. http://www.legolanddiscoverycenter.com/kansascity/?gclid=CO_bzLn1zroCFY9FMgodnWgALg

Here I am with two huge Lego figures. almost as big as me…wow! that is a lot of Legos and putting them together must have taken days of work!!!

photo 3

We strolled around and I took several more calls for my Birthday. Our son and our daughter always call on our birthdays and we both try to catch up on what is happening in their lives too.

Finally we decided it was time to get something else to eat. We went to Olive Garden thinking that they sold my favorite dessert, Creme Brulee’.  I love this dessert. If you have never had it..here is the easy recipe. http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/07/creme-brulee/ I love the way this woamn enjoys making it too. I guess that will be me since they didn’t have it..sad :<).

We still stayed and after dinner we split a chocolate cheesecake and I got some gourmet coffee. So here I am enjoying that.

photo 5

We did stop at a few stores too as I had some things to return. But all in all the day was a nice fun day. About 2 it stopped raining and so we were able to wait out the storm too.

It was a fun and mostly FREE Birthday! Thanks Kent for a wonderful day and to all my friends who wished me a Happy Birthday in person and on facebook too.

Next year will be a big one…guess we will have to look for something extra special for that one. Hah!

Love,
Jan for the Roaming Reimers

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Celebrating my birthday”

  1. RICHARD L MCCLELLAND Says:

    I love the way you search out and find so many fun free things to do on your birthday. Wish you could send some of that rain here, or perhaps bring some when you come. Actually, we did have a big peal of THUNDER last night, some beautiful lightning, but only a few drops of rain…enough to get our vehicles all dirty! Ha! You’ll like your new neighbors as they have all kinds of plants, etc. Reminds me of you!Blessings to our traveling friends from OFF the Road Again!!!!!!!! Ha Ha

    Date: Wed, 6 Nov 2013 00:48:20 +0000 To: rrgift@msn.com

  2. Mike & Daylene Beldon Says:

    Happy Birthday Jan. We’re glad you had a wonderful day, thanks for sharing, we enjoy your blog. Safe Travels, we Love You Both.

  3. Kathy cook Says:

    Happy Birthday Jan. I just had mine too! Love ya!

  4. LuAnn Says:

    Happy birthday Jan! 🙂

Leave a Reply

