An Unexpected Blessing and Experience

In July I (Jan) got a call from the WorldVenture secretary for the North East region of the US. She was seeking a missions speaker for a Ladies retreat in New Hampshire. Would I be willing to do that?

When I looked at my calendar and realized that we would be “on the road” and our Rv house would be in Kentucky I was saying ” NO, when I felt the Holy Spirit say..”Why Not?” So in the middle of saying No, I asked Kent, if I could do this…and he said “Go for it!”

So I told her I would pray about and if everything came together I would do it. Well, all the things did come together for the trip and so I found myself flying to New Hampshire alone to speak as the missions speaker at a ladies retreat for women from all over New England. This was the first time for me to do this type of ministry alone without Kent to help me. Usually I arrange the flights and car and he does the driving and knowing where to go.  So that is what was different.  I actually went a day early too.

I arrived safely and got the car and drove to the camp. I enjoyed the drive and stopped a few times to soak in the history and beauty of the area. This was the first meeting house in Jaffrey,NH where the retreat was held. That was probably the only building in the early town used for everything. They still use this building too!

IMG_6048

IMG_6051

A house built in 1790. Really old too!

IMG_6045

Some of the pretty scenery as I drove along the road. Leaves were just starting to change in the end of September.

IMG_6080

I had arrived at the last sign. Monadnock was the one among others here. I still am having a hard time pronouncing it. Hah!

IMG_6064

I had begun my preparation in late July and continued even while waiting for the flights. But I had a distinct impression from the Holy Spirit that I should share a different message. I was to talk for two 10 minute mission moments and then 1 hour talk about ministering to Internationals. I sort of pushed the Holy Spirit off by saying I had to keep to the subject given to me.  I enjoyed the time in the beautiful fall weather in New Hampshire. I enjoyed interacting with all the different ladies. And I enjoyed and was challenged by the main speaker.

And then it was my turn to speak…I was so conflicted about what I should talk about. In the prayer time right before I went to speak I finally surrendered to what I felt God telling me to speak about.

But I went to that podium sweating and totally relying on God for each word..as I had not prepared this message.

One thing to say is WOW!  Awesome Power of God ! I shared the story of my own life. My life of abuse by 4 family members and how God has been healing me.  I believe that He has healed me and it is mostly as He has helped me to first forgive my abusers and releasing them to God to work in them. Turning over my hatred of them to Him.

Now many women have had a similar story but are still angry.  I met with many after this talk. Some felt God working in their lives and some needed prayer for it. I must say I was weak and forgot some important parts of my story to show God’s strength in and through me, BUT GOD WORKED MIGHTILY!  That is why God wanted to me go and share. I know some woman if not more than one, needed to hear that story. I do pray that God would touch many people through this message of Forgiveness and HEALING. 

God continues to do this work. And not only for my abusers but others He places in my life. So this is not a once and done kind of thing..this is what God will do each and every day and every moment as He needs to.

I am currently writing a book about my life and this part in particular. But this was the first time I was ever able to talk about this in a public place. May God use it in any way He chooses. I pray dear reader, if you have been hurt in some way that you are holding on to, that you will give it to God and allow HIm to help you to forgive, for yourself to heal!

Jan for the Roaming Reimers

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “An Unexpected Blessing and Experience”

  1. LuAnn Says:

    Jan, I am so pleased that you were able to share this. We who have been abused come to this in our own time, and whenever that is, it is so freeing. I am certain that you opening up as you did helped many others, even if they were not aware of this at the time. God bless you! 🙂

  2. Cindy Berry Says:

    Jan, I am inspired by your courage to share such a vulnerable part of your self. Certainly God is redeeming and using your pain.

    I have a friend who recently shared her story for the first time, too……a story of abortion 25 years after the fact. Oh, how it has freed her in so many areas of her life. She did not understand until now where much of her depression was rooted. She believes now that her calling, her passion is to minister at pregnancy centers to girls who are considering abortion.

    I can’t wait to read your book! Keep me in the loop. Love, Cindy

    Cynthia K. Berry Berry Marketing Communications 330/697-7188

Leave a Reply

