Flowers in the desert

Actually flowers are blooming at the small Christian college that I volunteer/work at over the winter here in Phoenix, Arizona. I volunteer here and the college so appreciates the work that they pay our rent in the RV park where we are parked. So it helps us and them.

When we arrived in November the flower boxes looked like this:

IMG_3720

IMG_3719

And after I planted the flowers it looked like this.

IMG_3758

IMG_3759

Then a few weeks ago they looked like this.

IMG_3944

IMG_3945

And last week they looked like this.

IMG_3950

IMG_3953

This year the flowers have grown so tall. Well at least the snapdragons are very tall, almost as tall as me.

I love taking the sad looking flower boxes and turning them into something beautiful. I work almost every day on them trimming off the dead flowers, staking up the tall ones so the littler ones underneath can grow and dealing with aphids, too little water or too much. Whatever is necessary for the flowers to thrive.

I sometimes do other kinds of work with the maintenance department. When the flowers are still small and not growing so much they dont need as much care, then I help in other ways. Here I am painting with my white painters jumpsuit on.

IMG_3752

I am privileged to be able to do this kind of gardening job and do it for the Lord. God uses me to help with our support and also do what I love to do.

I thought you would like to see the flowers that God uses to glorify him here in the desert.

May God bless you in the ministry/work He gives you.

Gratefully,

Jan for the Roaming Reimers

4 Responses to “Flowers in the desert”

  1. Rachel Says:

    Beautiful!!

  2. The Amazing Scavenger Ralley Says:

    You do have the green thumb! Love you and can’t wait to see you this summer. If you are available, reserve August 24 and find another couple to join you and I will cover your entry to the Ralley. We would love to have you participate and I think you would both enjoy it. 🙂

  3. Millie Hilsher Says:

    THE FLOWERS ARE SO BEAUTIFUL, JAN….YOU SURELY DO A GREAT JOB WITH THEM. COULD I HIRE YOU THIS SUMMER TO TAKE CARE OF MINE? WHEN WILL YOU BE IN OUR AREA. LET ME KNOW WHEN YOU HAVE DETAILS. LOVE, MILLIE

Leave a Reply

