Remembering a dear friend

Last Thursday as we were about to board our plane from Houston back to Phoenix, I got a text from my niece, Jana. Her mother, my sister-in-law for 28 years and my friend had just passed into eternity. Even as I type that I find it hard to believe. The family buried her on Sunday and I wasn’t able to get there for it nor even to say a final goodbye. I last saw Sis in March when I was in Pennsylvania for my brother Merle’s funeral. Not the brother she was married to.

Some of my memories are:

Sis was a nickname for Carolyn. She was the oldest daughter of a neighboring family to my family growing up. So when my oldest brother and she got married it seemed natural to all of us. Sis and Rueben lived in rooms in our house that were made into an apartment for them. I was glad to have Sis nearby and especially so once her children came. I was only 10 years old when Jana was born and then I think about 2 years later Brian. Jenny came several years later. But I babysat for the kids a lot.

I remember going to her apartment when there was a thunderstorm with linghtning especially. Sis told me about getting hit by lightning once. No wonder she was a bit of afraid of it.  I have respected lightning ever since.  Sis was sort of a second older sister to me.

I remember one time during a summer that Sis and Rueben lived in the apartment. We kids were home form school. My brothers didn’t want to do the dishes and I was tired of always doing them for them.  So I refused and one of my brothers shoved me to try to force me to do it, well I hit a wooden piece on the couch and cut my forehead.It  bled a lot…and Sis heard the screams and came running to see what was wrong…when she saw the blood she said “You killed her!” There was a lot of blood but thankfully I wasn’t dead. She then took me and cleaned up the wound.  I think she looked out for me a lot.

As an adult after I got married  we had another fun memory. We were packing our things to take to Brazil as missionaries. We had to name and give the value for each item that we took and we had to have an itemized list to take with us.  It seemed like a job that I never could get done..but when Sis heard about it. She offered to help with typing the list. That was such a big help.  That was when I found out that she liked Country music.  We all listened to it while we worked.

In these last years since my brother and Sis divorced,  with the help of Jana I was able to maintain a relationship with Sis. Jana kept in touch with us and when we came to town we all got together.  I am so glad for that.  I considered Sis still a part of my family and my friend.

One of the last times I saw her.  Sis, me and Jana

Thanks Sis for being my friend and for all the memories. I miss you already!

Love,

Jan for the Roaming Reimers

2 Responses to “Remembering a dear friend”

  1. Mike Beldon Says:

    Jan, our hearts go out to you both. May the Lord’s peace bless you at this time.

  2. Rachel Says:

    So sorry for your loss of Sis and thanking the Lord for the many precious memories you have of you and her together. God is so good to bring these times to your memory so comfort your heart as only our Good God can do.
    Blessings my friend, from Rachel

Leave a Reply

