I am feeling a bit nostalgic today

Nostalgic and a bit sad…today is my mom’s 91st birthday. She passed away last June so she is not worried about it any more. BUT I still miss her and especially on days like this! I miss not being able to call her and just chat and find out how she is doing. She also used to tell me how the rest of my family living near her were also. With her birthday so close to Mother’s Day i would always be thinking of her a lot around this time of year.

Here is a treasured picture of my mom, my sister Esther and her daughters Lori and Dawn and me. This was taken in 1988 when Kent and I had just come home from Brazil.  Esther passed away in 2000 and now my mom. So you can see how very special this picture is to me.

When I was last in PA in March this year, I went by the house that my mom lived in as young girl with her parents and siblings. Someone bought it years ago and fixed it up but did not change much on the outside. I love driving by as it looks so neat and cared for. I have good memories of visiting my grandparents there.

I also stopped by and saw the church where my mom asked Jesus to be her savoir. It is a little country church. My mom and her siblings walked to it as it was a short walk from their house. I am so glad that this church was a testimony in the neighborhood.

Church where my mom got saved in PA

I also stopped by and saw my mom’s and dad’s grave. My sister is also buried here. It is the grave yard of the little country church.

My mom's grave

It has a beautiful view.

Good's Mennonite church graveyard

This cemetery is home to a lot of my relatives as well.  My sister Esther is buried nearby.

Esther's grave

Here is the grave of  my mom’s parents.

Pappy and Nana Olweiler's grave

I miss them all but I am looking forward to the day in heaven when I will see them all again. I like this picture of my mom and I at our daughter Kara’s wedding in 2006.

Me & Mom at Kara's wedding

I am so grateful that Mom was able to come to these special moments in our lives. We need to be so grateful we had her for so long. Now in heaven God is laughing at some of her stories and of course our dad, sister and 3 brothers all get to enjoy her again.

Enjoy your moms….with Mother’s Day coming up I will remind you to do something special for your mom. You never know how long you have with them. I had sent my mom a huge box of goodies like you can order last year. I am sooo glad that I did!

Love, Jan for the Roaming Reimers

One Response to “I am feeling a bit nostalgic today”

  1. Rachel Says:

    You are following in the footsteps of your Mom and being a wonderful Mom AND grandmother. So nice you have the photos plus the memories of your mom and other members of your family. We treasure our family and all the things we get to do together. God has been so good to us and we thank Him for allowing us this time together before we all meet in Heaven with Jesus.
    Blessings to you on Mothers Day!

Leave a Reply

