Planting flowers in November

We are back in Phoenix and settled in. The very day we arrived I headed to the college to see the plants. There were some plants that had made it through the summer but were looking a bit old. So I pulled them out and added some fertilized soil to help the new plants do even better. Then I started planting. I only got the long rectangular boxes filled for now. BUT the weather is so nice even a bit hot at 90 degrees, so I am dressed quite differently than last year.

Check it out how I was dressed last year

Jan '11 planting flowers at ACU

This year

Planting Nov '11

This afternoon I got these boxes done. And I must say after planting almost 300 plants in 3 days…I am tired.

Each box is pretty much planted the same way. So here is one of them with a closer look.

Here is an overview of all of them.

Boxes  Nov'11

Kent and I were gone for the weekend as Kent is speaking at a church south of Tucson. Then I have two days before we fly to Denver for another conference. So I am trying to get all of this planting done now. The college has an event for which they want the campus to look really good. That is why I pushed to get these planted now. So it is an experiment to plant this early. We will see how it goes.

I know that most of you around the country are thinking, “Planting flowers in November. What is she thinking?” But this is Phoenix, Arizona and they seldom even get freezing weather so we can.

I do hope you are having a good day today too, no matter what the weather is like where you are.

Jan for the Roaming Reimers

3 Responses to “Planting flowers in November”

  1. Donna Says:

    Beautiful flowers and what a great ministry to show God’s beauty AND to do what you love.

Leave a Reply

