Farewells and old friends

Kent and I said our farewells to our new friends at SAMBICA Camp last week. It was hard but we do hope to come back next spring.We are so grateful that we made some good friends here too this summer.

Before I left though I had one more project to see accomplished. My boss helped me to get an old pond filled in with dirt and I wanted to see it planted. Here is what it used to look like:

Pond before filing in with dirt

So even though Monday was rainy, I was ready to plant. So I went out in the yellow rain gear and boots that you see me in here. I understand that is what you have to do a lot here in the Pacific Northwest…

Planting flowers in the rain

So here is my job when done…these plants will grow to fill in this area. Should be very pretty in the spring.

Pond area planted

I got pretty muddy by the end of the day but was very proud of getting that job done. God gave me the strength and I give Him the glory for all the flowers planted and how pretty the camp looked this summer. I was a small part in helping to make it pretty.

So after saying our goodbyes…we took off. I knew that we were going to be able to see some good friends that we have known for over 30 years. We were excited to see them. We met this couple when we were all young almost newly wed couples when our husbands all did aviation school together. We had a great time of catching up with Don and Claudelle.

Don& Claudelle

Kent and I also had a special time with the other couple we had met in Tennessee at aviation school. Jan and Jim had come to Seattle this summer. The three couples were pretty close when we all were at aviation school together.

Jan and Jim in Seattle

It struck me today that we have shared much life with these friends over the years. We knew each other before any of us had children. And now between all three couples we have 8 children and so far 9 grandchildren. So much has transpired in our lives in all this time. We do not see each other very often but one thing we do hope is that all three couples can find a way to see each other together the next time.

So in reflecting on this it made me realize that we have to visit and be in contact with good friends whenever we can, as life and time just flies by us and these relationships are what matters most.

May God bless you.

Love Jan for the Roaming Reimers

2 Responses to “Farewells and old friends”

  1. Roger Longbotham Says:

    The ex-pond looks great, Jan, as does the rest of Sambica. I drove by the camp on Friday and the flowers in the planters are beautiful. It really sets the property apart from the rest on W. Lake Sammamish road.

    Gail and I have really enjoyed getting to know you and Kent and are enriched for it. We look forward to renewing and deepening our friendship when you return.

    God speed and God bless,
    Roger

    • RoamingReimers Says:

      Roger thanks for the kind words. I am glad to know that the flowers do stand out. I know the SAMBICA staff would like that too. I will let them know. We too look forward to getting to know you both better when we return.

      In Christ,
      Jan

Leave a Reply

