Treasure your loved ones!

I have not written here for a few weeks. Bear with me and you will understand why.

On June 6th I got a call from one of my brothers that my mother was not doing well. Mom had turned 90 on May 7th. I flew to her side and was able to even help care for her for a few days. She passed into heaven on June 11th. Kent as well as well as our daughter Kara and husband Nick all came to comfort and encourage me through the funeral and all the visiting. She leaves behind 7 children, 3 of my siblings are already in heaven too. She also leaves 23 grandchildren and I don’t even know how many great grand children and about 4 great-great grandchildren. Mom was a born again Christian and we know she is now in heaven. I will miss her a lot but I am so glad that she had such a full life. Here is the last picture of me and my mom together. I treasure it.

We flew back to Seattle and we went back to our routine here. We helped Kent’s father celebrate his 90th birthday last weekend. Dad seemed to really enjoy all the fun. We are glad that we are close enough to help with these special times. We drove back to Seattle on Sunday night.

On Monday my brother Harvey called me from Pennsylvania. His only son, 30 year old Christopher had been in a terrible car accident. He had serious brain injuries and other injuries as well. We spent a very difficult week praying for God’s will and for Chris to get better BUT Chris passed into eternity this morning.

His family are reeling. My brother and sister-in-law had helped Chris care for his only daughter Hayley who is only 7 years old. Chris had custody of Hayley and had her most of the time.

Please pray for the entire family, we are all trying to make sense of this kind of death. And it made me feel like wanting to tell you to treasure all the time you have with your loved ones. We never know how much time we will have.

May God bless you today!

Love Jan for the Roaming Reimers

2 Responses to “Treasure your loved ones!”

  1. carolann Says:

    Dear Jan,

    We treasure that letter and picture or you and your precious mother. Your love for her is so evident; I’m glad you could spend a few days with her. She looks so happy to have you near. I know you miss her. Some day the Lord will have all His children home together.

    Our hearts go out to Hayle. We must remember her in prayer. Who will have custody of her now?

  2. Mimi Bjorklund Says:

    I’m thinking and praying for you and your family, Jan. I know the loss of your nephew was such a shock. We’re praying. Love you, my friend.

    Mimi

Leave a Reply

