Mother’s Day weekend 2010

We are still staying with Kara and Nick. So it is very special to be with our daughter and her husband for Mother’s Day. We try to do helpful things when we are with our kids to make their lives a bit easier for them. So Kara and Nick had a project for us. They share some garden space at Nick’s sister’s house nearby. On Saturday we all went to help get the garden ready. I found some weeds to pull and after Nick took out all of her Iris plants that weren’t blooming, I replanted them. If you know me, you would realize that I love doing stuff like this. So here we are at the garden site.

Also Saturday a dear friend of Kara’s, Libbey that she has known from youth group in Kansas City was getting her Master’s degree. We have known her, her husband and both of their families for years. So Kent, I and Kara went to the reception they were having.

Kara and Libbey May '10

Now ladies you know what I mean about not wanting to show up wearing the exact same thing as someone else…Well, guess what?

Jan and Charlene in same shirt May '10

This is Libbey’s mom and me in the exact same blouse. How odd and it would have been awkward if it hadn’t been someone I’ve known for a long time. ! I just bought this blouse(it is all one piece) and love it. But Charlene also loves hers. We haven’t seen each other for over 3 years so there was definitely nothing planned about this. Funny!

I had a GREAT Mother’s Day. One of the special things was that I was with one of our children as you can see from the pictures… AND… I am about to fly to Detroit to see our son Josh, his wife Teresa and 4 year old Silas. So in some ways you couldn’t have given me a better Mother’s Day.

Kent and I , Kara and Nick went on a 3 mile hike in this really nice park nearby and then had a good picnic lunch.

Mother's Day May '10 Hike in Denver

I love this view and Kara and Nick are quite cute here.

Kara and Nick Mother's day hike '10

Since Kara and Nick’s house church was coming to their place that night, before leaving we had put a pot roast in the crock pot. So I even got a nap in the afternoon before 12 others joined us for dinner and sharing time. It was fun and enjoyable to meet many new people in their church.

We did get to skype with Josh and Silas for almost an hour last evening too. That is always special! I am so excited to see all of them again tomorrow. So today is laundry and packing.

Well, friends I do hope all you mothers also had a great Mother’s Day!

Love Jan for the Roaming Reimers

One Response to “Mother’s Day weekend 2010”

  1. Rachel Says:

    You deserve a wonderful Mother’s Day and planting the iris’s sounds just up your alley. p.s. The flowers STILL look beautiful and we think of you each time we admire them. Thanks again for all your hard work!

Leave a Reply

